RockStar is off my Christmas card list

November 29, 2008 at 8:02 PM (Uncategorized)

I just found out that RockStar has infected the PC version of GTA 4 with SecuRom malware.

I am trying to work out how to express my anger in a way that doesn’t violate international strategic arms limitation treaties or require an environmental impact statement. Just take it for granted that I AM EXTREMELY PISSED OFF.

I have a (legitimately purchased) copy of GTA 3, Vice City and San Andreas. I still play all three games. A lot. I am a big fan of Grand Theft Auto.

When San Andreas was released, I fumed at the absence of a PC version (I don’t do consoles) and tapped my fingers impatiently for several months waiting for it to come out. I drove to the nearest GameStop and bought it the day it was finally released.

When GTA IV was released, I fumed at the absence of a PC version and have tapped my fingers with ever growing impatience waiting for them to get around to it. I’ve been watching the calendar like a hawk for months. I’ve viewed every YouTube video uploaded by the console dorks. The release date is A-L-M-O-S-T here.

AND NOW THIS!

GAAAHHH! All that goddamn waiting for nothing! I absolutely refuse to buy anything infected with SecuRom or StarForce.

SecuRom is malware. In addition to being DRM, it also tampers with other software that might be installed on a PC. Process Explorer and Daemon Tools to name just two off a lengthy list. There are even rumors (which I don’t personally believe) that it has a tendency to destroy CD/DVD drives. Or maybe that was StarForce.

I’m not one of those who downloads a torrent of something to make a point. Or to steal it for that matter. I also strongly disapprove of the practice some people have of buying a game, but installing the torrented version because they dislike the DRM. That is self defeating.

My philosophy on DRM is very simple. People who treat me like a thief do not get my money. By including DRM on the product, the company has lost a sale. $50.00 in this case, which I can certainly put to a different use considering how the damn economy is these days.

Fuck you RockStar. I am (was) a loyal customer, not a thief. No longer. You can go straight to Hell.

Leave a Reply

