Screw Slashdot

May 13, 2009 at 5:43 AM (Uncategorized)

Alright. That’s it. I’m done.

I am sick to death of trying to read the summaries of Slashdot threads, only to have some weird ass box pop up that blocks what I’m trying to read and says “Firehose has paused due to inactivity. Please click here to unpause”.

SICK TO DEATH OF IT.

Why? Because when I click the link the whole fucking page reloads and I lose my goddamn place.

It did it again just now and dammit I’ve had enough of that shit! So I click the NoScript button on my task bar and tell it to block all scripts from Slashdot (previously I had it whitelisted).

Well guess what. Now it doesn’t even show the goddamn story I was TRYING to read when I block scripts. I searched (with Firefox’s CTRL+F) the front page, the 2nd page, the 3rd, the 4th. It just isn’t there. I turned scripts back on and searched again and there it was. WTF?

What in the hell is the point of throwing a box in the face of your site’s visitors, blocking what they’re trying to read until they deal with the box, then throwing them back to the top of the page the moment they do? Seriously, what the fuck? Are they nuts?

And why are stories hidden if you turn off scripts? What the hell is that about?

I’m not doing it any more. Fuck Slashdot. That is incredibly obnoxious and I’m not going to sit here trying to read a site that does stupid shit like that.

Bye bye, CmdrTaco.

Update:
The fact that less than 24 hours after posting this I’m seeing numerous Google searches for “firehose” “slashdot” “paused due to inactivity” and so on in my referrer stats is amusing as hell. Guess I’m not the only person it pisses off.

4 Comments

  1. Chris said,

    Thanks for posting what I exactly also thinking!

    Could some firefox guru *please* develop a plugin to stop this behaviour?!?

    • Rooker said,

      I bet it could be clobbered by Greasemonkey, but I don’t use that, so I couldn’t say for sure.

  2. osc said,

    I’ll third this as an isssue. Just because I leave the Slashdot window open doesn’t mean I want this popping up. If I press the “X” button it immediately reopens itself… wtf.

  3. Conditioned said,

    Same.

Leave a Reply

