Digital DRMs

January 16, 2010 at 8:25 PM (Uncategorized)

Last night I had a DRM…

“Mr Gates? You bought a SpeedStar 2000 XL GT from us a couple of months ago?”

“Yes, what a sports car! 180 mph! Vroom…!”

“Yeah, well, we’ve discovered a bug in the Engine Management System and you need to bring it in. The engine could seize at high speeds.”

“Oh, okay.”

“And you’ll have to sign the updated warranty agreement.”

“Why? There’s a fault, so you’re obliged to fix it. Why should I sign anything?”

“Well, the fix involves limiting the top speed to 60 mph and adding phone-home capability to the on-board GPS.”

“Hell, man! I don’t want a sports car that only does 60! And I don’t want my GPS to phone home!”

“Can’t have one without the other. If you don’t sign, your brand new car stays a deathtrap.”

“So what’s the GPS phoning home for?”

“In case you go out of you home state, Mr Gates. Seems some states want to charge a visiting fee.”

“But I could get it all for free in a Ford! Dammit, I’m going to get my lawyers to rip that agreement apart and my lawyers are the best in the world!”

“I know…they’re the people who wrote it. You see, the EMS runs under Windows.”

“Gak!”

Dream on…drm off.


Scribbled years ago by someone named Checkout from Wilders security forums

Share:
Tweet This

Leave a Reply

