Dear Dr Laura, Freedom of Speech Does Not Protect You From Criticism

August 27, 2010 at 11:37 PM (Uncategorized) (, , , )

“I want to regain my First Amendment rights. I want to be able to say what’s on my mind and in my heart and what I think is helpful and useful without somebody getting angry, some special interest group deciding this is the time to silence a voice of dissent and attack affiliates, attack sponsors. I’m sort of done with that.” – Laura Schlessinger on the Larry King Show

This is a rant that has long been coming. If you’ve followed me on Twitter for any length of time, you’ve probably seen me say this several times. I am sick to death of whiny, childish morons on the right who mistakenly believe that they alone have the right to free speech. Whiny, childish morons like Laura Schlessinger.

Dear Dr. Laura:

Freedom of speech does not shield you from criticism of stupid speech. If it did, that would violate everybody else’s freedom of speech.

Freedom of speech means you can say The-Unholy-N-Word eleven times in front of several million people if you want. Freedom of speech means you can tell a black woman that she shouldn’t marry outside of her race. Freedom of speech means you can say that all gay people are “deviants” and “biological errors.” You have a right to be a bigot and to express your bigotry; nobody is disputing that.

The First Amendment gives you the right to express yourself without the government punishing you for it. It also gives me the same right to express my opinion of what you said. Which of those words is too large for you to understand? I can find smaller ones.

When the government threatens to punish you for something you say, THAT is censorship. When I tell your advertisers that I will not spend money with them as long as they sponsor your bigotry, that is NOT censorship. My choice to spend my money elsewhere does not take away any of your rights.

Leave a Reply

