How do I get rid of this stupid Steam prompt?

April 26, 2011 at 3:40 PM (Uncategorized) (, , , , )

When I installed Fallout New Vegas last year, I was forced to allow Steam to be installed. I don’t like Steam and didn’t want it dirtying up my hard drive but the idiots at Bethesda Softworks decided to foist this garbage software on all their PC customers, so there was no choice but to let it install. Once New Vegas was installed and running, I promptly set Steam to offline mode, wiped the stench of it off my tainted hard drive as best I could and have tried to ignore Steam ever since.

Unfortunately, there is no way to start New Vegas without also starting Steam and Steam refuses to simply load quietly and let me get on with it. It forces me to dismiss this annoying prompt every time it loads:

Steam Nag Prompt

I hate this prompt

Can someone please tell me how to either make New Vegas load without Steam or how to load Steam without that damned prompt? I’m sick of seeing it every time.

1 Comment

  1. Jan Smit said,

    Yeah it’s unbelievable dishonorable of the guys at obsidian to force steam unto its customers, even though they paid for the goddamn discs. Sneaky sons of bitches.

Leave a Reply

